What are the major and minor books of Epistle in the Bible?

I’m not sure if you are referring to the prophetic books in the Old Testament or the epistles in the New Testament. Major and minor usually refer to the prophetic books. There are five major prophets and twelve minor prophets. You can find them toward the middle and end of the Old Testament.

But if you’re referring to the epistles, they are generally broken up into Paul’s epistles, of which there are 13, and the general epistles. Of the general epistles, the apostle John has three, Peter has two, and then there are Hebrews, James, and Jude. Some scholars include John’s Revelation in the general epistles and others make it its own category of New Testament prophecy.

Of Paul’s 13 letters, four are letters written to an individual (1 and 2 Timothy, Titus, and Philemon). The nine letters written to churches are Romans, 1 and 2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1 and 2 Thessalonians. The letters written to churches are named for the cities from which those house churches originate.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.